top of page
  • Z. Garnett

4 Nursing Certifications to Consider

As nurses continue to grow in their career, obtaining a certification is something they may want to add to their tool kit. Becoming certified goes beyond the necessary requirements for licensure. It demonstrates that you have gained advanced skills and knowledge to provide specialized care to patients. In addition to improving patient outcomes, certifications can also lead to career advancement, increased salary and other opportunities.

If you are considering a certification, here are a few options:

1.      Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS)


An ACLS Certification teaches advanced life saving techniques beyond basic life support, to treat patients with cardiovascular emergencies.


2.      Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS)


According to, a Pediatric Advanced Life Support certification support teaches ‘timely recognition of and interventions required to prevent respiratory and cardiac arrest in pediatric patients’ among other topics.  


3.      Certified Critical Care Nurse (CCRN)


Nurses who are interested in intensive care, cardiac care, or trauma units may want to obtain a Critical Care Nursing Certification. It requires attention to detail, critical thinking and the ability to work well under pressure.


4.      Progressive Care Certified Nurse (PCCN)


Nurses who desire to work with elderly patient with acute illness, may wish to obtain a Progressive Care Nursing Certification. These nurses work in a variety of units such as emergency rooms, telemetry and step-down units to name a few.




Are you a certified nurse, looking for your next opportunity? Contact Light and Hope LLC to see what positions we have available!












13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page